Dream

Everybody has a dream.

A kid, playing with friends in the garden, dreams of becoming the world’s most famous tennis player, imagining hundreds of fans cheering.
A teenager dreams of an easy-going life full of parties and friends and the courage to go say “Hi” to their crush.
An adult dreams of settling down, finding the one true love and starting a promising career.
Later, they’ll dream of enjoying every second with their family and making every instant an unforgettable moment.
Finally, she’ll dream of the time she tried her wedding dress for the first time and he will remember the first time he saw her in it.

My dream? Well, I have settled down, I have a job, I’m going to try my wedding dress for the first time soon and I’m surrounded by friends. What I’m dreaming of at the moment, though, is to have my recipe appear on the menu of The Trattoria, one of Jamie Oliver’s restaurants.

The reason? A personal challenge and a sense of real achievement after so many years of having cooked for friends and family.

How do I make that dream come true? By getting as many votes as possible for my tuna and asparagus mousseline by asking people to vote for me on http://www.jamieoliver.com/foodwise/article-view.php?id=2384

Would you help me to make my dream come true?

Tuna and Asparagus ‘Mousseline’ – 4 persons
250g of green asparagusMousseline de thon
1 cream of asparagus soup individual sachet
2 125g cans of tuna in brine
15cl of crème fraîche
3 gelatine sheets
1 teaspoon of fish spice
Salt and pepper

Heat the oven to 180°c / gas 6.
Chop half of the asparagus in pieces approximately 2 centimetres long.
Set the remaining whole asparagus aside.
Fry the asparagus pieces with a drop of olive oil for 5 to 7 minutes.
Drain the tuna and break into small pieces.
Dilute the cream of asparagus soup in 15cl of water in a sauce pan at medium heat.
Add the crème fraiche. If the texture is too thick, add some water but do not let the mixture become too liquid.
Delicately add each gelatine sheet individually into the mixture, waiting for them to melt before adding in the next.
Add the tuna and asparagus, then season with the fish spices and a pinch of salt and pepper.
Line the inside of the ramekins, with greaseproof paper, allowing the paper to extend beyond the top of the ramekins.
Pour the mixture into the ramekins.
Place the ramekins in a bain marie in the oven for 45 minutes.
Once done, place the ramekins in the refrigerator overnight or for at least 3 hours.
Turn out the contents of the ramekins.
Fry the other half of the asparagus whole, with a drop of olive oil for 5 to 7 minutes.
Serve the mousseline with the asparagus

29 thoughts on “Dream

  1. Hi Mathilde,

    I just voted, Good luck. I’m not sure if is possible ( they didn’t ask for an email address) but I’ll try to vote for you tomorrow again.

  2. My pleasure, I really like your blog and your recipes always give me a lot of ideas.
    I’m getting married next year in Paris but my fiancé and I are going to Istanbul for our engagement party with family and friends in a month. Can’t wait for it! Istanbul is such a nice city, I love it!

  3. I voted for you and this recipe looks good. Enjoy Nice…one of my favorite places in the world: the pic at the top of my site is the concrete beach near vieille ville/the port and my summer there 2 years ago inspired a lavender tea cake!

  4. Voted! Best of luck, definitely would be well deserved. Congratulations on getting married (soon) as well! Trying on the dress must be exciting. Hope your dream comes true🙂

  5. Thanks a lot! I haven’t tried the dress yet but it’s on my list of the million things to do and I’m so excited about it. Finger crossed for my dream, will keep you posted anyway!

  6. My votes in and I’ll pass along the word. Good luck on your recipe! Jamie Oliver is such an inspiring chef. I think he’ll love this recipe and so will all of his restaurant guests. It sounds wonderful! And speaking of wonderful… I cannot wait to read more about your wedding plans! I’m so excited for you!

  7. Oops. Wait a minute- maybe I’ve read this wrong and your words were about the future and your dreams- not an actual wedding. Anyway, I do see your current dream and I an imagine how exciting this must be. Good luck to you!!

    • Hi Kim, thanks a lot for your vote! I hope that I will manage to keep the first position until the end of the challenge. You were right about the wedding, I’m getting married next year in the South of Paris, can’t wait for it!

  8. Good luck! The dish looks great, oh and I forgot on the wine post to say that we had gone to Italy twice, and will be back, because we are in love with the wine, food, and beautiful country we saw…

Leave a Reply

